Here’s everything you need to know about voting Tuesday

Delaware's Democrat and Republic candidates square off against each other Tuesday.

Delaware’s Democrat and Republic candidates square off against each other Tuesday.

Political offices across Delaware are contested in Tuesday’s primary election, with only registered Democrats and Republicans allowed to vote.

Polls are open 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

The Delaware Department of Elections maintains a portal to find your polling location by typing in your address. The portal also allows you to “review your registration, request an absentee ballot or check the status of your absentee ballot.” (It’s too late to request an absentee ballot.)


The most significant  primaries are in Wilmington. Because the city has so many registered Democrats, the winners in the Democratic primary tend to win the general election. The marquee primary is for mayor, pitting incumber Mike Purzycki against Velda Jones-Potter and Justen Wright.

There are Democratic primaries for three statewide offices, pitting the incumbents against newcomers. They are Gov. John Carney vs. David Lamar Williams Jr., Sen. Chris Coons vs. Jessica Scarane and Insurance Commissioner Trinidad Navarro vs. Kayode Abegunde.

There are Republican primaries for three statewide offices. Colin Bonini, Dave Bosco, Dave Graham, Julianne Murray, Bryant L. Richardson and Scott Walker are running for governor, with the winner facing the Democratic winner, widely expected to be incumbent Carney. Jim DeMartino and Lauren Witzke are running for U.S. Senate, with the winner facing the winner in the Democratic primary. Matthew M. Hathaway Morris and Lee Murphy are running for the U.S. House, with the winner facing incumbent Lisa Blunt Rochester. 


In New Castle County, County Executive Matt Meyer is challenged by Maggie Jones. And County Council President Karen Hartley-Nagle is challenged by Ciro Poppiti and Monique Johns.

The Department of Elections spells out various rules for the primary.

A big issue this year involves absentee ballots and voting by mail, favored by some to avoid possible coronavirus contagion and dissed by President Trump and his allies. There are procedural differences, but the end result is the same: You vote by submitting a piece of paper rather than going to a polling place.


It’s too late to get absentee and mail ballots, and it’s also too late to mail them back. These ballots must be returned by 8 p.m. Tuesday to secure drop boxes in each county. 

New Castle County has boxes in the lobby of the Carvel State Office Building, Ninth and French streets, Wilmington, and in the New Castle County Office and Warehouse, 220 Lisa Drive, New Castle, at the south (far) end of the building.

The Kent County box is at 100 Enterprise Place, Suite 5.

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share on LinkedIn

About the Contributor


Ken Mammarella

Ken Mammarella is a freelance writer who lives in Wilmington.