Delaware school board elections: Only 1 incumbent loses

Delaware elections

Here are results in Tuesday’s school board elections, according to unofficial reports from several sources.

It was a day for returning incumbents to their unpaid positions throughout Delaware, except in Laurel.

New Castle


Board member Michelle Wall defeated Wayne Meadows for her at-large seat by a 1,370-806 vote.

Wall lives in Odessa and calls herself a “proud parent, prepared leader, and strong advocate” on Facebook. She works in community relations for Make a Wish and has two daughters in district schools. Her priorities include education funding reform; equitable staff compensation, particularly when compared to nearby districts; and expanded opportunities and programs for all students.


Red Clay

Board member Martin Wilson won another term for his District B seat, defeating Sarah Fulton and Lillian Oliver by a vote of 1,670 to 1,211 and 917.

Wilson, who lives in Wilmington, has been a board member for 20 years.

Board member Catherine Thompson defeated Grace Otley for her District G seat by a 2,575-1,103 vote. More than 100 votes went to William Dolittle, whom Thompson said had dropped out.

Thompson says she has 25 years of involvement with the district and its schools, including 10 on the board. Her two children are Red Clay alumni, and her daughter teaches in the district. All told, the Hockessin resident emphasizes “improved education and financial accountability.”



Caesar Rodney

Board member Joyce Denman defeated Justin Puchalsky for her at-large seat by a 722-180 vote.

Denman is a retired educator and has been on the board since 2019. She and her husband have three children who graduated from district schools. She told that “a standard protocol for remote learning and how it will look and feel” is the district’s most important issue.




Board member Tony DePrima won a full term for his at-large seat, defeating Dennis S. Hallock Sr. and Leandra Marshall by a vote of 502 to 463 each for the two challengers.

DePrima, who joined the board last year, is a Dover resident. For 10 years he was the city manager and is now executive director of Energize Delaware. He told that ensuring success is the district’s most important issue.


Board member Rony Baltazar-Lopez defeated Scott Willey by a 463-340 vote.

Baltazar-Lopez is a Lincoln resident and public information officer for the Delaware Department of Justice. He told MilfordLive that the uncertainty caused by the coronavirus is the the district’s most important issue, and he told that the fate of the Milford Middle School is the most important.



Indian River

Connie Pryor defeated Greg Goldman for the open District 4 seat by a 537-457 vote.

Millville resident Pryor recently retired as a district secretary. Her Facebook page cites experience, commitment and common sense.


Jana Boyce Pugh defeated board member D. Brent Nichols for his at-large seat. She defeated him and Barbara Erskine by a vote of 352 to 193 and 29.


Pugh is a Laurel resident who just retired after teaching 24 years in the district. “I know firsthand that it is the teachers who know the students the best. I will use my experience and continued contact with current teachers to be a voice for our students,” she wrote on Facebook.


Julleanna Seely defeated Darrynn Harris for the open at-large seat by a 199-83 vote.

Seely lives in Greenwood her husband and three children. She is Keller Williams Realtor and co-owner of Seely Homes. “Though I never attended public school, I have chosen public education for my children and am glad I did,” she wrote on Facebook. “I don’t seek this position with a specific agenda but more as an opportunity to serve our community.”

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share on LinkedIn

About the Contributor


Ken Mammarella

Ken Mammarella is a freelance writer who lives in Wilmington.

Leave a Comment