City College Scholarships to Benefit 18 Wilmington Students

The 2019 class of Mayoral Scholarship awardees

Wilmington Mayor Mike Purzycki awarded more than $31,000 in college scholarships Thursday night to 18 high school seniors from Wilmington. 

At a ceremony at the Louis L. Redding City County Building, Mayor Purzycki said the young men and women selected for academic scholarships this year represent a cross-section of the best and brightest students in Wilmington.

The Mayoral Scholarship program has been in place for more than 20 years.

The 2019 class of Mayoral Scholarship awardees attended public, charter, private and parochial schools and included a gamut of intended fields of study, ranging from sciences to communications, history to ballet, and aviation to business.

Equally varied are their areas of leadership and service. Many are captains of sports teams and many more lead service and academic clubs.

Awardees posed with Wilmington Mayor Mike Purzycki

Each student received an award of $1,760.00. To be eligible for a Mayoral Scholarship, senior students must be a Wilmington resident, have a 2.5 GPA or better, and demonstrate leadership and a commitment to community service. Awardees also submitted an essay and other references.
“Our great solemn responsibility is to level the playing field so that everybody has the opportunity to go out there and take advantage of their God-given talents without having any undue impediments,” said Mayor Purzycki. “This is a small gesture on our part to be able to help you – parents and kids – along the way on this important endeavor in your lives. We’re grateful for you, we’re proud of you, we congratulate you, and we hope this will give us an opportunity to bask a little in the light of all of your future accomplishments.”

Congratulations to the following scholarship students who are listed with their high schools and the colleges or universities they will attend:

Liliana Bifferato – Ursuline Academy
Manhattan College
Sascha Bretzger – The Charter School of Wilmington
Wellesley College
Lily Burke – Padua Academy
Drexel University
Caesar Cooper – Concord High School
Delaware State University
JaNiece Davis – St. George’s Technical High School
Neumann University
Antonia Dougherty – Ursuline Academy
University of Cincinnati College Conservatory of Music
Sophia Gulotti – Cab Calloway School of the Arts
Temple University
Taryn-Marie Jenkins – Sanford School
Hampton University
Simone Josey – Mount Pleasant High School
North Carolina A&T State University
Cecilia Krienen – Padua Academy
Temple University
Robert Laws – Cab Calloway School of the Arts
Coastal Carolina University
Michael Lober – The Charter School of Wilmington
University of Oregon
Dizara Miller – Christiana High School
University of Delaware
Imena Robbins – Delcastle Technical High School
Morgan State University
Haley Scott – Padua Academy
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Samiyah Sherman – Alexis I. DuPont High School
University of Delaware
Meiko Stephens – Concord High School
University of Delaware
Christion Wheeler – Salesianum High School
Widener University

The recipients were selected by a committee named by the Mayor to review their credentials. The group included Earl Cooper, Tiffany Christopher and Ashley Christopher who are employed in the Mayor’s Office, J.J. Francis, Outreach Coordinator for U.S. Senator Chris Coons, and Wilmington’s Auditor Terence Williams.

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share on LinkedIn

About the Contributor



TSD: Delaware’s best take on events, community and local life