DE Pols Lock Arms Against Hate

The statue of Confederate General Robert E. Lee stands behind a crowd of white supremacist protesters and counter protesters in Charlottesville, VA. Photo courtesy CNN.

In an extraordinary show of unity days after racist, hate group-inspired violence led to the death of a woman in Charlottesville, Virginia, state elected officials from across the political spectrum came together to say Delaware “is a state that rejects hate, discrimination and violence.”

The rare “Joint Statement” was signed by all statewide officials and leaders of both parties in the General Assembly. A full text follows.

A Joint Statement By Elected Leaders of Delaware

We join together to denounce the intimidation and violence perpetrated by white supremacists and Nazis in Charlottesville, Virginia last weekend, and to make clear that such conduct will not be tolerated here in Delaware. 

We come from different backgrounds, different parties, and different parts of the state.  Some of our colleagues have relatives who served and died fighting the Nazis in World War II.  Some of our colleagues have ancestors who were imprisoned and killed in Nazi-run concentration camps.  Some of our colleagues have ancestors who were enslaved and oppressed when white supremacy was permitted by law here in the United States.

All of us, together, reject the white supremacist and Nazi views espoused last weekend in Charlottesville, and condemn the behavior and violence that accompanied it.  It will not be tolerated here in Delaware.  We are a state that rejects hate, discrimination, and violence.

Governor John Carney                                   Lt. Governor Bethany Hall-Long
Attorney General Matthew Denn                  State Auditor Thomas Wagner
State Treasurer Kenneth Simpler                    Insurance Commissioner Trinidad Navarro

State Senate
President Pro Tempore David McBride, Majority Leader Margaret Rose Henry, Majority Whip Nicole Poore
Minority Leader Gary Simpson & Minority Whip Gregory Lavelle of the Delaware State Senate

State House
Speaker of the House Peter Schwartzkopf, Majority Leader Valerie Longhurst, Majority Whip John Viola
Minority Leader Daniel Short & Minority Whip Deborah Hudson

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share on Google Plus
  • Share on Pinterest
  • Share on LinkedIn

About the Contributor


TSD: Delaware’s best take on events, community and local life

Leave a Comment