Delawareans Appointed to Civil Rights Advisory Council

UnknownThe U.S. Commission on Civil Rights recently announced the appointment of eleven members to the Delaware State Advisory Committee.

Members include:

Lisa B. Goodman, Wilmington (chair) • Lydia S. Cox, Wilmington • Susan M. Dixon, Claymont
Michael D. Fleming, Wilmington • Joel E. Friedlander, Wilmington • Patricia C. Johnson, Wilmington
Barrett E. Kidner, Dover • Olga Ramirez, Wilmington Rashmi Rangan, Newark • Enid D. Wallace-Simms, Wilmington • Leland B. Ware, Newark

“Delaware is the ‘First State.’ There’s a long tradition of standing up for American ideals, and the new committee will carry on an energetic civil rights debate,” said Commission Staff Director Marlene Sallo.

State advisory committee members conduct reviews and produce reports and recommendations concerning local civil rights issues, including justice, voting, discrimination, housing and education. Congress mandates that federal Commissioners appoint volunteer members to advisory committees in all 50 states and the District of Columbia for two-year terms.

“The committee will have its plate full as we begin to explore the issues. The quest for full civil rights for all is unfolding around us,” said Lisa Goodman, newly appointed committee chair.

Past Delaware State Advisory Committees published reports exploring elderly nutrition, female and minority contractors, and the Delaware prison system. The committee will meet for the first time in February to lay out its plans and priorities.

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with studying and advising the President and Congress on civil rights matters and issuing a federal civil rights enforcement report. For information about Commission’s reports and meetings, visit

  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share on Google Plus
  • Share on Pinterest
  • Share on LinkedIn

Leave a Comment